Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

Ohio Car Insurance Quotes


Fall Road in Ohio
Ohio is known as the "Buckeye State" because of the distinctive seeds dropped by the Ohio Buckeye Tree. Residents have embraced the nickname and proudly call themselves Buckeyes. The seventh most populous state, Ohio is home to many well-loved professional sports teams as well as high quality NCAA sports programs at both Ohio University and Ohio State University.

If you are moving to Ohio, look into the various options for car insurance. Even if you have never been to the state, you can perform excellent research into the available car insurance simply by comparing offers through online insurance quotes. It starts with knowing the basic insurance requirements and then looking at additional insurance you might need.

Existing Ohio residents also benefit from regularly checking car insurance options. When you need to renew your policy or add someone to an existing policy, it is a good idea to shop around to see what rates are offered by different agencies in your area. Insurance quotes are the best way to make sure you are always paying a competitive rate for the coverage that you need.

Mandatory Insurance Coverage in Ohio

- Bodily Injury Insurance Minimums

  • $12,500 per person injured in any one accident
  • $25,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

- Property Damage Insurance Minimums

  • $7,500 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

- Uninsured Motorist (UM) / Underinsured Motorist (UIM)

  • Ohio does not require a minimum or maximum amount of UM coverage.

How much will Ohio's minimum insurance coverage cost you? Find out by entering your zip code in the form below.


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


Those new to the states will need to plan ahead to transfer driver licenses and plates to Ohio. Ohio considers you a resident as soon as you get a job, sign a rental agreement or lease, purchase a residence, register as a voter or enroll your kids in an Ohio school. Unless you are a college student in Ohio, you'll have thirty days to transfer once you become a resident.

Before you show up at the Ohio BMV, make sure you have everything you need ahead of time. It is common for the unprepared to make six trips to the BMV before everything is squared away. Even the well prepared can expect to spend a full day and possibly need to come back another day to finish.

It's in your best interest to look up the nearest BMV in the yellow pages and stop by quickly to check out the different hours and methods of payment required for licensing, titles and registration. There is no continuity between departments and only certain BMV locations are "one-stop shops," the name given to locations where title, licensing and examination services are all available on premises. You can find the full list of "one-stop shops" at www.OhioBMV.gov.

Driver's License

To get your Ohio driver's license, you'll have to pass a written exam. The questions are not complicated and most drivers should pass without needing to study first. There are 40 questions and you can get up to ten wrong to pass. Still, it's a good idea to pick up a copy of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws. Call before you move for a copy: (614) 466-4344, or go online to www.bmv.ohio.gov. The digest includes everything you need to know. Pay special attention to laws specific to Ohio governing seatbelts, drunk driving and window tinting.

There is no need to get an appointment for the written test, which you can take by computer. Expect to surrender your old out-of-state license when you apply for your Ohio license. Your new driver's license is valid for four years, expiring on your birthday.

If you did not have a license from another state, or if you have special restrictions on your out-of-state license, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) might make you take a driving test as well. There are also special rules for anyone under 18 requiring you show proof of your driving experience, training courses and other items. Be sure to check with the BMV website for the full requirements.

Vehicle Inspections

Before Ohio will register your car, you need to a pass an inspection designed to prevent registration of stolen vehicles. The inspection only costs $3.50. You'll also have to pay $1.50 at the auto title office. If you prefer, you can have the inspection done ahead of time at a local dealership. Call the parts department to set it up.

Some Ohio counties also require an "E3" check, an inspection designed to control pollution. People living in E3 counties will need to show their E3 Certificate at the time of registration. Call 1-800-Car-Test to find out if the E3 inspection will apply to your car.

Title

If you don't think both you and your spouse can be present at the Ohio BMV to transfer title, make sure one of you arrives with a power of attorney or you get the car put in just one name before you move. Any owner listed on the title must be present to apply for an Ohio title. If you go with a Power of Attorney, make sure you have two copies. You'll need the second copy when you go to register the car.

If there is a lien holder, you'll need the lender to send you an original title showing them as lien holder ahead of time. Also, be sure to bring a copy of the loan contract. Otherwise, you'll be making an extra trip to the BMV. Call ahead to the Court of Clerks find out how much they will charge you for the transfer. You'll have to pay sales tax before you can get an Ohio title.

If you recently bought your car in another state, Ohio will charge you for the difference between the taxes you paid and the higher Ohio rate, if applicable. For leases, you'll also need the original title from the leaseholder. Expect extra paperwork as well. It's best to call ahead and ask what documents will be needed.

Insurance

Ohio financial responsibility laws dictate that no one can operate a car without proof of insurance. Ohio requires $12,500 per person and $25,000 per accident liability insurance and $7,500 for property damage.

You must get your Ohio vehicle title (or memorandum of title in the case of a lien) before you can get your Ohio vehicle registration. Before you can register your car, you must have proof of insurance and proof of your social security number. A binder from an insurance agent showing the amounts of coverage will work.

Fees will depend on how much time remains in the year, what district you live in and your birth date. Expect to pay somewhere between $35 and $100. As with the title, any legal owner of the car must be present, unless you have a power of attorney to present.

Proof of Residency

The Ohio BMV recommends you carry proof of residency with you, but this is only needed for title and registration, not licensing. Your proof of insurance qualifies as proof of residency too, so you need not bring along any utility bills or mail from your new address.

By planning and being prepared, your Ohio transition can be a lot easier. The process requires planning, paperwork and checking ahead. Otherwise, you'll find yourself frustrated as you make several return trips to the Ohio BMV.

Car Insurance in Ohio


Akron Car Insurance
Canton Car Insurance
Cleveland Car Insurance
Columbus Car Insurance
Cincinnati Car Insurance
Dayton Car Insurance
Lorain Car Insurance
Parma Car Insurance
Toledo Car Insurance
Youngstown Car Insurance