Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

North Dakota Car Insurance Quotes


National Park in North Dakota
The 19th largest state in the nation, North Dakota is one of the least populated states. North Dakota is best known for its long, snowy winters and wide-open plains. The main industry of the state is agriculture, but the Bakken oil shale fields in the western part of the state have created a recent boost to the economy.

Insurance laws in the stat enquire you carry certain minimum limits. This information is important to people moving to the state but can also be useful for current residents who are considering changing their insurance company or policy limits.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements for North Dakota

- Bodily Injury Coverage

  • $25,000 per injured person
  • $50,000 for all injured parties

- Property Damage Coverage

  • $25,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others

- Basic No-Fault/Excess No-Fault Coverage

  • $30,000 for economic losses per injured person, regardless of fault. Under this No-Fault statute, an insured claimant can recover non-economic damages through the courts if the claimant has suffered an accidental bodily injury that results in dismemberment, death, more than 60 days of disfigurement or disability, or medical expenses that exceed $2,500.

Optional Insurance Coverage

- Uninsured (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

  • Must equal or exceed minimum bodily injury requirements if purchased

- Excess No-Fault Coverage

  • $80,000 maximum for a person injured in an accident

To find out how much you could expect to pay for car insurance in North Dakota, enter your zip code in the form on this page for more information. If you're moving to the state, the following information could make the transition easier.


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


Transferring a Driver's License and Registration to North Dakota

Anyone who becomes a permanent resident of North Dakota must transfer their driver's license and vehicle registration within the first 30 days of residency. Exceptions to this rule are students who are only in the state while they are attending college and military personnel who are on active duty. You can transfer your driver's license at a local district office, and you can transfer your registration at the local motor vehicle site. Transfers must be made in person, but subsequent registration renewals can be made through the North Dakota Department of Transportation website. If you expect to need to complete a road test in order to receive your North Dakota driver's license, you must schedule an exam with the appropriate testing site before the day you visit the site. Transfer offices will expect you to be prepared to pay all fees in cash or with a personal check at the time of the transfer.

Proof of Residency

You may be required to present proof of your current North Dakota residency before a driver's license transfer can be completed. This proof is not always required, but it is a good idea to be prepared just in case. You can use a utility bill or other mail that shows your legal name and your North Dakota address. If you don't have any mail yet, you can prove that you are a resident by showing a paycheck stub from a local business, mortgage paperwork, or other paperwork that originates from an outside source and displays your name and local address.

Driving Age Limits

You must be 16 years old or older before you can be issued a driver's license in North Dakota. Even if you already have a license from another state, you will have to wait until your 16th birthday to test in North Dakota. If you are 14 years old or older, you can qualify for a learner's permit, which allows you to drive under certain conditions as long as there is a licensed driver in the front seat with you. Learner's permits from other states are not honored. You must pass the written driving exam before you can be issued a learner's permit. Once you are 16, you can earn a license without any restrictions.

License Identification Requirements

Your driver's license from your previous state will not be accepted as proof of your name or your date of birth. You must present original documents or certified copies of identification paperwork. Acceptable proof of identification documents include birth certificates, valid passports, United States court order for name changes or adoptions, or valid immigration documentation. If you have changed your name more than once since your date of birth, you might be required to present certified documents of each name change.

Driver's License Fees

Each transaction required to receive a driver's license in North Dakota has a corresponding fee. There is a $5 charge to take the written test, and an additional $5 is charged when you take the road test. A standard, non-commercial driver's license costs a flat fee of $15, regardless of whether you are renewing an old license, receiving your first license, or transferring a license from another state. Commercial licenses cost an additional $3 per endorsement. You can be issued a non-driver's photo ID card for an $8 fee.

Non-resident Temporary Registration

If you plan to live in North Dakota for a period of 6 months to a year but you are not a student or on active military duty, you will need to purchase a non-resident temporary registration. The registration allows you to drive the vehicle in North Dakota legally for up to one month, but does not require that you transfer your title to North Dakota. The fee for a passenger car for a 6-month temporary registration is $60. Temporary registration for a passenger car for a 12-month period will cost $120.

Registration Application

You must complete and sign the North Dakota registration application before you visit the motor vehicles office. The application includes details about the vehicle's ownership, any liens that might be held on the vehicle and odometer information if the vehicle is 10 years old or newer.

Your application will also include information about your car insurance and has a place for you to include proof of insurance. If your car is less than 9 years old, you will have to sign a Damage Disclosure statement and submit it with your registration application. Most of the information needed to complete the application can be found on your title and registration paperwork from your previous state.

Inspection Required for Registration

Every North Dakota vehicle must be inspected by a Highway Patrol Trooper before it can be registered in the state. To have your vehicle inspected, you must take an inspection form to an inspection site. The trooper on duty will make sure that the vehicle is in proper working order, the tires are in good condition, and the VIN number is clear on the vehicle. The trooper will fill out the form, and then the office will mail the form to the Department of Motor Vehicles where it will be kept on file and accessed when you submit your registration application.

Proof of Vehicle Ownership

In order to prove ownership of the vehicle, you will need to present a current title along with your registration application. If your car is held under a lien and the lien holder is in possession of the title, you will need to send a letter to the lien holder requesting that the title be sent to the North Dakota Department of Transportation for a transfer. The Department of Transportation will send the new North Dakota title to the lien holder once the transfer is complete.

Car Insurance in North Dakota


Bismarck Car Insurance
Dickinson Car Insurance
Fargo Car Insurance
Grand Forks Car Insurance
Jamestown Car Insurance
Mandan Car Insurance
Minot Car Insurance
Wahpeton Car Insurance
West Fargo Car Insurance
Williston Car Insurance