Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

Nevada Car Insurance Quotes


Nevada is well known for gambling in its big cities of Las Vegas and Reno, but there is more to this state than gaming. Since 85% of the state's residents live in those two cities, there are miles of untouched mountain and desert areas perfect for outdoor recreation. The large number of silver mines gave Nevada the nickname of The Silver State. Many mines are still in operation today.

Online resources are available to help you learn everything you need to know about the insurance regulations and costs. You can compare Nevada car insurance companies directly through an online car insurance quote. Even if you are pleased with your current insurance provider, you should be aware that many things that can affect your insurance rates. Moving to a new house, buying a new car, and even changing jobs can cause your rates to change. You should compare insurance quotes from different companies at least once a year to make sure you are paying a competitive rate for the car insurance you buy.

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada

- Bodily Injury

  • $15,000 per person injured in any one accident
  • $30,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Property Damage

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident
  • Optional Car Insurance Requirements in Nevada

Uninsured Motorist (UM) and Underinsured Motorist (UIM) Coverage

  • Amount must be equal to the bodily injury liability coverage purchased

Would you like to find out how much you would pay for car insurance in Nevada? Enter your zip code into the form on this site for more information.


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


Transferring a Driver's License and Vehicle Registration in Nevada

When you move to Nevada from another state, you must transfer your driver's license within the first 30 days of residency. You must transfer your vehicle registration within the first 60 days of residency. The fines for not transferring your license and registration can be as high as $1,000. If you can prove that you have completed the transfer within a certain period, the fine may be reduced to $200.

Residency Requirements for a Driver's License

Anyone who works in Nevada qualifies as a Nevada resident. People employed by the military are exempt from residency requirements unless they take a job in the civilian sector while living in the state. Nevada will not issue a driver's license to anyone who is not a legal resident of the state. Residents are those who work in the state or keep their primary residences there. People who are seasonal residents do not need to apply for a Nevada license.

Proof of Identity Documents Required for a License Transfer

New residents need to complete the Driver's License or Identification Card Application as part of their driver's license transfer requirements. Nevada does not accept out-of-state licenses as proof of identity. You must present the DMV with a document that proves you are a legal resident of the United States. Certified birth certificates, certificates of naturalization, or passports are all acceptable forms of identification. You must also present a valid social security card, previous tax return document or military identification. The DMV will not accept photocopied documents. You must bring originals or certified copies.

Driving Test Regulations

Anyone who has never had a driver's license or whose license is from a foreign country must take a written driving exam, a vision exam and a driving skills test. If you are over 21 and have a valid out-of-state driver's license, you only need to take the vision exam. Drivers who have expired licenses must take the written test before they can gain a Nevada driver's license. Anyone who cannot present a copy of their out-of-state license, drivers under the age of 21, or anyone who has had their license suspended or revoked in another state also must take a written test. Drivers previously convicted of a DUI must also take the written test.

License Restrictions for Teenagers

Drivers who are between the age of 15 1/2 and 18 are eligible for a Nevada driver's permit. If you have a permit from another state, you can legally drive if there is a licensed driver in the front seat with you. The minimum age for gaining a Nevada license is 16. Drivers who are under the age of 18 should be aware there is a statewide curfew for teenage drivers. No one under the age of 18 can drive between the hours of 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless they are driving to or from work or a school related event.

Deadlines for Registering and Insuring a Vehicle in Nevada

New residents enjoy a 60-day grace period for registering their vehicles. The vehicles must carry insurance from a Nevada insurance company to be eligible for registration. Drivers need to be aware their insurance coverage deadlines are different from the deadlines for registration. You must purchase a Nevada insurance policy within 14 days of becoming a resident. After 14 days, your old insurance will expire and you will be considered uninsured. It is best to complete the insurance process and transfer your registration within the first two weeks of moving to Nevada.

Prepare Before You Visit the DMV

Nevada offers online resources to help you organize your information before you visit the DMV. You can download application documents and VIN forms through the Nevada DMV website. It is a good idea to have all of your paperwork completed and ready when you get to the DMV. If you have everything prepared before your visit to the DMV, your transfer process will go more quickly and smoothly. Anyone interested in purchasing personalized plates can order them online 60 days in advance.

Necessary Documents for a Registration Transfer

Several documents are required to complete your Nevada registration transfer. You must have a valid proof of insurance with a Nevada insurance company. You also need a certified emissions report if you live in Las Vegas or Reno and drive a car manufactured after 1968. Vehicle owners must present their current registration papers, as well as the title for their vehicle. If your vehicle is currently under a lien, you have the option to maintain the out-of-state title until the vehicle has been paid off. You should transfer the title to Nevada once you own the vehicle to minimize problems if you sell the vehicle.

VIN Check and Tag Exchange

The DMV will keep your out-of-state tags when you receive a set of Nevada tags. Each Nevada vehicle must display a valid license plate in the front of the vehicle and in the back of the vehicle. Make sure you have the proper tools to remove the old plates and install the new plates when you visit the DMV. The DMV office will also need to check your VIN number if you are transferring a vehicle from another state. Most offices have a VIN check station outside the actual office area.

Registration Fees

The amount you pay for your vehicle registration varies by the weight of your vehicle. Owners of cars and light trucks that weigh less than 6,000 pounds pay a standard rate of $33. A fee of $28.25 applies to your initial registration transfer to cover incidental items like license tags. You will pay a state tax depending on the value of your vehicle. The three state taxes equal approximately 26% of your vehicle's overall value. A dealer tax may also be applied.

Car Insurance in Nevada


Boulder Car Insurance
Carson City Car Insurance
Elko Car Insurance
Fallon Car Insurance
Henderson Car Insurance
Las Vegas Car Insurance
North Las Vegas Car Insurance
Mesquite Car Insurance
Reno Car Insurance
Sparks Car Insurance