Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

Montana Car Insurance Quotes


Montana Road
Montana, or "Big Sky Country," is one of the most sparsely populated states in the country. The wide expanses of grasslands provide excellent grazing for cattle ranchers. Most of the residents live in the western portion of Montana, leaving the east open for large ranches and farms. Agriculture is still the primary industry in the state, with tourism on the rise as a close second. Montana has been called the American outback due to its rugged landscape and unspoiled natural expanses.

Montana residents need to know what kind of car insurance the state requires. Armed with that information, you can compare online quotes to decide which policy is the most affordable for your needs. Don't forget that life changes can affect your rates. Something as simple as changing your work location or sending a child off to college can become an opportunity for savings. A quick online quote check will keep you aware of the rates you should be paying for your current insurance.

Required Minimum Car Insurance in Montana

Minimum Bodily Injury Coverage Requirements

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident
  • $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

Minimum Property Damage Coverage Requirements

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

Optional Insurance Coverage

Uninsured Motorist (UM)/Underinsured Motorist (UIM)

  • Must be equal to or more than the minimum required bodily injury coverage
  • Montana does not have a statute that addresses underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage.

To find out how much you would pay for car insurance coverage in Montana, enter your zip code into the form located on this page.


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


Transferring an Out of State Driver's License and Vehicle Registration in Montana

The state requires that new residents transfer out of state driver's licenses and vehicle registration to Montana within the first 60 days of residence. You can schedule an appointment online prior to visiting the department of motor vehicles to help save time and make sure you have all of the documents that you need to complete the transfer.

Required Documents for License Transfer

When you apply for a driver's license, you will need to provide proper documentation. Montana requires proof of identity that includes an official photo ID with your full legal name and birth date displayed. You will also need to provide a secondary document that displays your legal name.

An example of acceptable documents would be a valid out of state driver's license and a social security card. Proof of Montana residency is also required in the form of a document that displays your legal name and your Montana address. You must also present proof that you are a legal resident of the United States.

License transfers take place at any driver exam station in the state. You do not need to visit a certain location based on your place of residence. You can visit the Montana Motor Vehicle Division website to make an appointment prior to visiting most of the driver exam stations. Make sure you bring all necessary documentation as well as cash, check, or money order to cover all licensing fees.

Paying License Fees

A standard Montana driver's license costs $40 for an eight-year period, which is $5 per year. An extra 50-cent charge will apply to each driver's license to cover the costs of mailing a renewal reminder near the end of the eight-year period. The age of the driver on the license issue date dictates how long the license will be valid. Your license fee will be increased or reduced based on the number of years the license is valid. The baseline of $5 per year applies no matter how many years your license covers.

License Testing

All Montana drivers must understand the specific Montana traffic laws. In some cases, the examiner may require that an individual pass a written exam before receiving a new driver's license. Most drivers who can present valid licenses from out of state will be able to obtain a Montana driver's license without taking any extra exams. All drivers must pass a vision test before obtaining a driver's license. Drivers who are 18 and younger may be required to pass a physical driving test as well as a written test when transferring a license.

If your vehicle was registered in another state and you need to transfer the registration, you must visit a county treasurer office or contact the Montana Title and Registration Bureau. Transfers must be made within the first 60 days of residency. You can facilitate the transfer process by completing the majority of the paperwork online before you actually move to Montana, then finishing the process once you officially become a resident of the state.

Your Individual Customer Identification Number

When you transfer your vehicle title to Montana, you will receive the Montana title and registration at the same time. You will also receive a customer identification number that will simplify your future business with the office. Your account number will be the same as your Montana driver's license number. The number will identify you any time a vehicle is sold or purchased in your name while you live in Montana.

Documents for Registration

You must apply for a new title and registration through the treasurer's office in the county that you reside in. The office will need to see a copy of your current out of state title. The clerk might require you to complete a Statement of Fact form if there are any questions about the title that you hold. You are required to provide the office with documented proof of car insurance through an insurance company that operates legally in Montana. Proof of insurance must be in the vehicle at all times. If you are paying on a lien, the lien holder will need to send the out of state title to the treasurer's office in order to complete the registration transfer. Every person listed on the title of the vehicle must sign the new Montana title in the presence of a registered notary.

Fees

The driver exam stations and treasurer's offices do not accept credit or debit cards. You should be prepared to pay your fees in cash, with a personal check, or with a money order. Licenses, titles and license plates will not be issued until you pay all fees in full. During the registration process, you will be required to pay all taxes and fees that apply to your specific vehicle. If you have paid the taxes in a different state, you don't have to pay them again.

Choosing Special License Plates

Montana offers several different styles of license plates. The state changes its standard plate designs every five years. When you receive a license plate, you may choose to keep the original plate for the duration of your ownership of the car, or you may choose to replace your old plates with the new ones when they arrive. You can pay a little more to get personalized plates or plates that represent causes important to you. If you order a special plate, you will receive a temporary registration sticker until the new plates arrive.

Car Insurance in Montana


Anaconda Car Insurance
Billings Car Insurance
Bozeman Car Insurance
Butte Car Insurance
Great Falls Car Insurance
Havre Car Insurance
Helena Car Insurance
Kalispell Car Insurance
Miles City Car Insurance
Missoula Car Insurance