Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

Florida Car Insurance Quotes


Downtown Orlando Florida
Florida has been called America's playground because of its long beaches and multitude of theme parks. The peninsula state draws tourists from across the nation and around the world due to the pleasant climate. The southern swamps are famous because they were explored extensively by Ponce de Leon as he tried to find the mysterious fountain of youth.

The state requires minimum levels of car insurance to make sure everyone is protected in the event of an accident. Knowing those minimums is the first step in getting a good deal on car insurance. You can compare quotes among several insurance companies, and investigate each to make sure you find the right balance of good customer service and great rates.

Mandatory Insurance Coverage in Florida

- Bodily Injury Insurance Minimums

  • $10,000 per person injured in any one accident
  • $20,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

- Property Damage Insurance Minimums

  • $10,000 for injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident

No-Fault Coverage

  • - Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage benefits up to $10,000 per person for medical and disability expenses

Optional Insurance Coverage

- Uninsured Motorist (UM) / Underinsured Motorist (UIM)

  • UIM is automatically included in any UM coverage. The coverage must be at least the minimum amount of bodily injury coverage required by the state.

Find out how much your Florida insurance will cost you by entering your zip code in the box.


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


Florida is one of the most popular relocation destinations in the United States. As such, it receives hundreds of new residents on a daily basis. This creates a high demand for license and registration transfers from people who are moving to Florida from other states.

Florida has worked to make it easier for new residents to make the transition to get a Florida driver's license by allowing people to schedule appointments with their licensing agencies. The requirements for transferring your license and registration are also clearly defined and relatively straightforward.

Grace Period for License Transfers

If you become a resident in Florida, you must obtain a Florida driver's license within the first 30 days. There are specific situations that are counted as becoming a resident of Florida, including:

- Registering to vote
- Enrolling your children in public schools
- Filing for a homestead exemption
- Beginning a job
- Living in Florida for 60 days consecutively

Because of the high number of people moving to Florida, it is a good idea to schedule your license transfer as soon as possible once you move to the state.

Bring the Right Documents

A license transfer in Florida requires specific documentation. If you do not have the required documents, you will not be granted a Florida license. Because of the volume of transfers done at each DMV, you will probably have quite a long wait before you are helped.

It can be incredibly frustrating when you finally reach the counter, only to be sent home again because the documents you have are not complete. Make sure that you fully research the necessary paperwork before you actually visit the DMV so that you do not waste your time.

Changing Identification Requirements

It used to be that a valid driver's license from one of 30 U.S. States was recognized as a primary form of identification in all Florida offices. If you held a license from one of the other 20 states, you would need to provide the office with another form of identification as well. Because of new federal regulations, all license applicants must provide proof of social security number and residence, no matter what state they come from. A current driver's license is no longer accepted as proof of identification.

Problems that can prevent a License Transfer

The most common reason that people are not granted a Florida driver's license when they transfer in from another state is that they do not have the proper documentation when they visit the DMV. These drivers can simply reschedule the license transfer after they obtain the correct documents. Drivers who have licenses that were suspended in other states will not be allowed to transfer their license to Florida until their suspension has been completely served with the other state.

Streamline the Process by Scheduling an Appointment

The Florida Department of Motor Vehicles has created an easy to use online form for residents who need to schedule appointments at the DMV. Scheduling your appointment in advance will dramatically cut down on the amount of time that you spend waiting to be served when you get to the motor vehicle office.

The form that you fill out will require that you specify what the purpose of your visit is, which allows the office to prepare the correct documents in advance. Even when you schedule an appointment, you may still have to spend some time waiting. The length of time will be greatly reduced compared to someone who walks in without an appointment, however.

Registration Transfer Deadlines

If you need to transfer your vehicle title from another state, you should be aware that you are only given 10 days to complete the process after you become a Florida resident. Bear in mind that the motor vehicle offices are very busy, which means that you need to allow plenty of time for the title transfer process.

It is recommended that drivers schedule their title transfer within the first few days of living in Florida. This way, they will have time to make any necessary adjustments or obtain necessary documentation before the grace period for registration ends.

Completing Necessary Documents for a Title Transfer

The first thing you need to do when you begin the title transfer process is to download and complete the Florida application for certificate of title. You can begin filling out this form from anywhere in the country because it is posted online. Preparing as many documents as possible before you move will help streamline the process once you are in Florida.

In order to complete the application you will need to know the vehicle VIN number, the license plate number, and the out of state registration number. When you give the application to Florida, they will send it to your former state for approval. Your previous state will then send the title to Florida and a Florida Title of Ownership will be printed and sent to you.

Auto Insurance Requirements

Florida requires that all vehicles carry a minimum level of auto insurance before they can be registered. Residents must carry minimum coverage of $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).

You must present a valid proof of insurance to the Florida DMV before your title will be given to you. Florida also requires that all drivers be insured by companies that are certified to offer auto insurance in the state of Florida.

The Costs of Vehicle Registration

Vehicles that are transferred into Florida carry a flat registration fee of $100. Additional fees are calculated based on the weight of the vehicle. A vehicle that weighs less than 2500 pounds will be charged an additional $27.60. If your vehicle is between 2500 and 3499 pounds, you will need to pay an additional $35.60. Vehicles that exceed 3500 pounds will be charged an additional $45.60. The fees for weight are standardized, and they apply regardless of the type of vehicle or the number of axles.

Car Insurance in Florida


Fort Lauderdale Car Insurance
Hialeah Car Insurance
Hollywood Car Insurance
Jacksonville Car Insurance
Miami Insurance
Orlando Car Insurance
Pembroke Pines Car Insurance
St Petersburg Car Insurance
Tampa Car Insurance
Tallahassee Car Insurance