Clicky

Car Insurance Companies
Facebook Fan Page
Twitter Account
Car Insurance Blog

Colorado Car Insurance Quotes


Scenic Mountain in Colorado
Colorado is a unique and diverse landscape of mountains valleys and plains. It's terrain is just as varied as the needs of drivers in the state. Insurance rates can vary greatly from one region to another.

The average Colorado family has a lot on the table when it comes to monthly expenses. Most families have auto insurance, but often pay without considering ways to save. By purchasing insurance smarter, many families can save a lot of money. Saving is easy when you compare auto insurance quotes. Not every company is going to offer the best rate, and some offer better service than others do. Start with the minimum insurance needed in Colorado listed below and then consider other insurance you might need to add.

Mandatory Insurance Coverage in Colorado

- Bodily Injury Insurance Minimums

  • $25,000 per person injured in any one accident
  • $50,000 for all persons injured in any one accident

- Property Damage Insurance Minimums

  • $15,000 for injury to, or destruction of, property of others in any one accident

- Optional Insurance Coverage Laws in Colorado

Uninsured Motorist (UM)

If elected, UM coverage minimum must match the bodily injury coverage minimum. The insurance company will provide coverage up to the limit of bodily injury coverage purchased or limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident, whichever may be less.

How much will Colorado Insurance cost you?


Enter Your Zip Code To Compare Rates:

Zip Code:


New to Colorado? Keep reading to find out all you need to know about transferring your license and registration.

Transferring Your Title To Colorado

Transferring a title or a driver's license from another state is relatively simple in Colorado. When you become a legal resident of the state, you will need to visit your local driver's license office and surrender your previous license. Colorado vehicle registration transfers take place in different offices depending on the county you live in.

Residency Requirements in Colorado

Colorado stipulates three specific requirements that qualify you as a permanent resident who must transfer license and vehicle title. These include owning or operating a business within the state, living in the state for 90 days, or being employed inside the state. New residents are given 30 days to transfer their driver's licenses and 90 days to register their vehicles. Students who attend Colorado schools from out of state are not required to transfer their driver's licenses or vehicle registrations. They must maintain a valid license and registration from their home state in order to drive legally in Colorado.

Documents Necessary for Transferring a Drivers License

The number of documents that you have to present in order to prove legal residency in Colorado differs depending on your specific situation. In many cases, a valid out of state driver's license and a social security card, and birth certificate are enough to fulfill the requirements. The basic data points that must be presented through an original document are your full legal name, age, identity, and legal status in the United States. A photo identification will be necessary. There are many documents that can fulfill these requirements, ranging from student identification cards to immigration paperwork that is up to date. In some cases, the office will accept faxed paperwork or carbon copies.

License Fees in Colorado

Colorado driver's licenses are valid for five years and cost $21.00. Drivers who are less than 21 years old will pay the same amount for their license, but they have different time restraints. Anyone between the ages of 16 to 21 will need to renew their licenses within 20 days of their 21st birthday. Commercial driver's licenses are valid for up to four years and cost $35.00. The addition of a motorcycle permit to any driver's license will cost an extra $2.00. Some offices charge convenience fees in addition to the standard fee scale for licenses.

Rules for Testing When Transferring a Drivers License

If you have a driver's license from another state that has not been expired for more than a year, you will be allowed to receive a Colorado driver's license if you pass the standard vision test. Licensed drivers who need to transfer valid out of state licenses do not need to take a driving test before they receive their new license. Each Colorado license office employee has the right to request additional testing or impose restrictions on licenses with appropriate cause in special cases. Colorado requires that all licensed drivers be fingerprinted as well as photographed.

Where and When to Transfer a License

You can transfer your driver's license at any Colorado driver's license office. These offices are conveniently located in each Colorado city, with several locations in larger metropolitan areas. All of the offices are open during regular business hours, Monday through Friday. The best times to visit a driver's license office are on Wednesdays and Thursdays during the first hour they are open. These are typically slower times, which means there will be shorter lines and your transfer will be processed more quickly. Mondays and Fridays are the busiest days of the week, so you should expect a long wait if you choose to transfer your license on one of these days.

Vehicle Registration through Your County

Vehicle titles and registrations are handled separately from driver's license offices. Each county operates its own registration offices. The counties may have different requirements for a vehicle transfer based on emissions laws that are in place in each county. All Colorado counties require that you provide proof that your current title has been valid for the last six months. You will also need to provide the VIN number for your vehicle and any lien information that may apply if you are in the process of paying for your car through a loan.

Insurance Requirements

Before you can transfer your vehicle's registration, you must obtain valid auto insurance from a company that is licensed in Colorado. There is a minimum level of liability and uninsured motorist coverage that all Colorado vehicle owners must carry at all times. If a driver is caught driving without insurance, his or her car could be impounded or license suspended. If you do not have auto insurance, you will not be allowed to register your vehicle in any county in Colorado. The longer you wait to obtain insurance and register your vehicle, the more expensive it will be.

Necessary Documents for Registration

You must provide proof of residency in Colorado as well as proof of ownership of your vehicle before your registration can be transferred. In most cases, a current utility bill or pay stub with your Colorado address will be sufficient proof of residency. A driver's license or identification card with a photo will be accepted as proof of identification. You must present your valid proof of insurance, as well as the paperwork that proves ownership of the vehicle. A proper, valid out of state title will be accepted as ownership proof, as will information from your lending institution regarding your vehicle loan.

Emissions Qualifications

Some counties in Colorado require that your gasoline or diesel vehicle meets specific emissions qualifications. You can visit several local auto shops in these counties to have your vehicle checked and gain the appropriate paperwork that proves that you passed an emissions test. Many testing sites are also able to perform the necessary repairs so that your vehicle can pass the emissions test and can be legally registered in Colorado. Emissions testing is required in most of the larger counties of Colorado. More rural areas do not require that your car pass an emissions test.

Car Insurance in Colorado


Arvada Car Insurance
Aurora Car Insurance
Boulder Car Insurance
Colorado Springs Insurance
Denver Car Insurance
Fort Collins Car Insurance
Lakewood Car Insurance
Pueblo Car Insurance
Thornton Car Insurance
Westminster Car Insurance